#IndulgeinBooks: 5 New Irish Books to Read in June 2018

It might be just us but as the weather heats up so does our reading pace.

Beach holidays, picnics in the park, and warm evenings in the back garden with a glass of red all become increasingly enjoyable when there’s a great book involved.

June 2018 Image via @readinginheelsuk on Instagram
Image via @readinginheelsuk on Instagram

It might seem like only days ago we brought the May edition of #IndulgeinBooks, and now we are here with 5 new releases to get stuck into.

Read on for the five great new books from Irish authors to indulge in this June 2018.

1. Till the Cows Come Home by Lorna Sixsmith, Black and White publishing

With a newborn baby in tow, Lorna Sixsmith and her husband swap their office careers for the dream of ‘the good life’, returning to Lorna’s ancestral farm at Garrendenny, Ireland. Now Lorna’s children play in the same fields – and their adventures echo those of generations of Sixsmiths before them.

The discovery of rural life proves more transformative, overwhelming and enriching than anyone could have imagined – but, above all, life-changing.

A truly ‘down to earth’ account of country life.
A rare and lovely glimpse of living in rhythm with nature, the seasons and the farming calendar.

Gently humorous and deeply personal, one woman’s story of leaving her comfortable urban life to re-root herself in the land her family has farmed for generations.

Lorna brings to life the men who ploughed, tilled and harvested, who loved to work the fields with horses, never quite taking to tractors.

Also vividly portrayed are the indomitable women who churned the butter and kept the chickens – selling eggs to earn their ‘hen money’.

Peppered with chat about the weather and the price of cattle, this insightful, witty book gives an authentic sense of the rituals and the unchanging aspects of country life.

2. The Story Collector by Evie Gaughan, Urbane Publications

A beautiful and mysterious historical romance from the author of The Heirloom and The Mysterious Bakery on Rue de Paris.

Thornwood Village, 1910. Anna, a young farm girl, volunteers to help an intriguing American visitor, Harold Griffin-Krauss, translate ‘fairy stories’ from Irish to English.

But all is not as it seems and Anna soon finds herself at the heart of a mystery that threatens the future of her community and her very way of life…..

Captivated by the land of myth, folklore and superstition, Sarah Harper finds herself walking in the footsteps of Harold and Anna one hundred years later, unearthing dark secrets that both enchant and unnerve.

The Story Collector treads the intriguing line between the everyday and the otherworldly, the seen and the unseen.

With a taste for the magical in everyday life, Evie Gaughan’s latest novel is full of ordinary characters with extraordinary tales to tell. Perfect for fans of Jess Kidd and Eowyn Ivey.

3. Cruelty Men by Emer Martin, Lilliput Press

Abandoned by her parents when they resettle in Meath, Mary O Conaill faces the task of raising her younger siblings alone.

Padraig is disappeared, Seán joins the Christian Brothers, Bridget escapes and her brother Seamus inherits the farm.

Maeve is sent to serve a family of shopkeepers in the local town. Later, pregnant and unwed, she is placed in a Magdalene Laundry where her twins are forcibly removed.

Spanning the 1930s to the 70s, this sweeping multi-generational family saga follows the psychic and physical displacement of a society in freefall after independence.

Wit, poetic nuance, vitality and authenticity inhabit this remarkable novel. The Cruelty Men tells an unsentimental tale of survival in a country proclaimed as independent but subjugated by silence.

4. Corduroy Boy by David Rice, Red Stag

Corduroy Boy is a coming-of-age novel in which a scrupulous and deeply-troubled Catholic boy grows gradually to manhood and maturity, mentored by a dedicated teacher, while both his family and his elite boarding school lurch towards terminal decline.

5. Twelve Thousand Days by Éilís Ní Dhuibhne, Blackstaff Press, out 28 June 2018

‘In the end, I learn what I have always known: the only link to the dead is what is documented, written down or otherwise recorded. I haven’t found any deeper insight, or any other way of making contact with the past or the dead.’

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne’s candid and moving memoir tells the story of her thirty-year relationship with the love of her life, internationally renowned folklorist Bo Almquist, capturing brilliantly the compromises and adjustments and phases of their relationship, and of how he died.

Twelve Thousand Days is a remarkable story about love and grief, shot through with wry and sharp observations on Irish life, culture and morality.


Sharon Thompson is an Irish writer, living in Donegal. Her debut historical crime novel, ‘The Abandoned’ launched as a #1 Best-seller on Amazon on 25th January.

She has since signed for two more crime novels with publisher, Bloodhound Books UK. She co-founded #WritersWise trending tweet-chat and her details can be found on www.sharontwriter.com